Do Things That Don't Work Out

When doing things wrong go right

"The goal was never the point. The process is."

First off, I want to give a huge THANK YOU! to everyone who supported the launch of "I'm Beautiful Because I Am." Your enthusiasm and encouragement meant everything to me. I'm grateful for every one of you.

Now let me let you in on something… Something that might raise a few eyebrows in the book marketing world.

I did my book launch the “wrong way”.

I launched "I'm Beautiful Because I Am" on my birthday, way ahead of schedule.

Why did I do this launch earlier?

Well, it's all tied to a bigger idea I've been mulling over lately. It's about the power of mission questions over mission statements.

Let me break it down for you.

Mission Statements vs. Mission Questions

  • Mission statements can lock us into a set agenda

  • They can blind us to other paths we're meant to take

  • Mission questions open up a world of possibilities

  • They allow for more flexibility in our goals

See, I had this fancy 50-page personalized guide from a book marketing consultant. It laid out the "proper" way to do a book launch. September was the month based on working my way backward in the plans.

But then I asked myself, "What if I give myself a birthday gift and launch to friends and family for free instead?"

Now, some people in my author groups are probably shaking their heads.

"That's the wrong way," they'd say.

"You won't make money. The point is to sell books."

But here's what I'm thinking: What if we scratch our goals sometimes and make the journey the destination?

The Power of Mission Questions over Mission Statements

We've all been there. Setting perfectly planned out goals; like crafting the perfect "mission statement", and trying to define our path in neat, tidy sentences.

But life? Life's messy sometimes. It's unpredictable.

And sometimes, those carefully crafted statements can become more like shackles than guiding lights.

Here's the thing about mission statements:

  • They're great for clarity and focus

  • They can rally a team around a common purpose

  • They provide a clear benchmark for decision-making

But here's where they fall short:

  • They can be rigid and inflexible

  • They might not adapt well to changing circumstances

  • They can blind us to new opportunities

Enter mission questions

They're like the cool, flexible friend you take on trips that's up for "trying something unexpected". They keep us on our toes, always exploring, always adapting.

Why Mission Questions Rule:

  1. They embrace uncertainty

  2. They foster curiosity and exploration

  3. They allow for pivots and changes in direction

  4. They keep us engaged with the process, not just the end goal

Now, let's talk about why this matters in the age of AI

AI is fantastic at following scripts, at executing predefined tasks. But it's not so great at going off-script, at asking "What if?"

That's our superpower as humans.

By embracing mission questions, we're tapping into what makes us uniquely human.

We're exercising our ability to think creatively, to adapt on the fly, to see possibilities where others see roadblocks.

And! We can even use AI to help us get better at this.

Imagine using AI tools to generate potential "What if?" scenarios, then using our human intuition and creativity to explore those possibilities.

It's like having a brainstorming partner that never gets tired!

Now, I'm not saying we should ditch mission statements entirely. They have their place. But think of them as waypoints on a journey, not the final destination.

They're our best attempt at answering our mission questions at a given moment in time.

Remember when I asked myself, "What if I launch on my birthday?" That question led to some pretty amazing outcomes.

Unexpected Connections:

  • Friends from all over the world sent messages and voicemails

  • We genuinely caught up, making my birthday a global celebration

  • I discovered many people in my circle wanting to write or who have unpublished manuscripts

  • Seeing me launch gave others the confidence that they can and should publish too

These connections weren't just nice to have – they were soul-nourishing. It reminded me why I write in the first place: to connect, to inspire, to share experiences.

New Opportunities:

The ripple effect of this launch has been “beautiful”. It's opened doors I didn't even know existed.

For instance:

A woman who runs educational and enriching children's book clubs reached out to me. She wants to add my books to her site and interview me to be part of her recommended books for her membership.

This alone would have been exciting, but there's more!

It turns out she's also looking for homeschool courses for another of her businesses.

And guess what? Tiny Green Chef is a perfect addition to her membership website.

I couldn't have foreseen this connection if I tried!

Personal Fun Coincidences:

As friends reached out with birthday wishes and congratulations, I discovered a wonderful surprise: a good friend is having her 50th birthday party during my upcoming US visit. I'm now attending the party and looking forward to catching up with friends I haven't seen in years, especially since I haven't been to the US in over 5 years!

A Whole Lot of Learning:

Now,

I'll be honest – not everything went as expected. I thought launching the e- book for free would make it simpler for friends and family to read, share, and most importantly, review.

That didn't quite pan out as I'd hoped. Out of about 150 downloads, only about 10% have left reviews so far.

Many book launch experts advise against launching to friends and family early on. They say to market straight to your target audience to avoid disappointment.

But you know what? By going against this advice, I got to enjoy my birthday in a whole new way. I connected with people I might not have otherwise.

Sure, the review numbers aren't what I initially hoped for. But I gained so much more:

  • Genuine connections and conversations

  • Inspiration for others to pursue their writing dreams

  • Unexpected professional opportunities

  • A deeper understanding of my own goals and motivations

This experience reminded me that success isn't measured in numbers.

Sometimes, it's measured in the lives you touch, the conversations you start, and the doors that open – even if they're not the ones you were initially looking for.

So, while my approach might not have followed the "expert" playbook, it led to a launch that felt authentic, joyful, and full of possibility.

And isn't that what writing is all about?

Being Ready to Pivot:

One of the most valuable lessons I've learned from this launch is the importance of being ready to pivot. When you're open to possibilities, amazing things can happen.

Here's a perfect example:

A sorority sister saw my post about the book launch and reached out with an incredible opportunity. She's a vendor at our organization’s annual regional conference. It’s happening in Philadelphia, attended by 6,000 collegiate and professional women.

Even better, it’s happening at the same time I’ll be visiting the USA, in NYC practically next door.

What a coincidence!

Thanks to this connection, at my friend's suggestion, I'm now doing a book signing in downtown Philly during the event! This unexpected opportunity perfectly aligns with my visit to the US.

It gets even more interesting. 

My friend was looking to add promotional materials from other businesses, of members, to her customer gift bags but wasn't sure what to include.

Because I was open and ready to turn this launch into as many opportunities and experiences as I could, I get to put promotional materials for the books in the gift bags.

Intentionally Doing Things "Wrong" Can Lead to Success

You know what they say about best-laid plans, right? Sometimes, the "wrong" way turns out to be exactly right. 

That little "What if?" voice whispered, "Why not now?"

So, I threw caution to the wind and launched on my birthday.

By doing things "wrong,"

  • It created a sense of excitement and spontaneity

  • It allowed me to tap into the birthday wishes energy

  • It gave me immediate feedback and learning opportunities

This reminded me of something I've been observing with my youngest daughter. She's currently enrolled in an online summer camp called Synthesis. From the outside, it might look like just another video game, but it's so much more, especially to the attendees.

This program is all about:

  • Strategy

  • Teamwork

  • Problem-solving

As I witness her engage with the camp, I'm constantly amused. Time and time again, I hear her say things like, "Well, that didn't work. Let's try something else."

And you know what? That's exactly what they do. They keep trying, failing, and trying again. There's no overthinking, no fear of failure. They just jump in and experiment.

This approach led to an incredible victory for my daughter. There was this one time when it was just her and another little girl left on their team. Everyone else had dropped out for some reason. But these two? They worked so well together, constantly trying new approaches, that they ended up winning all the games for that session.

Why were they so successful? Because they were aligned with this idea:

  • Try it out

  • Go for it

  • What could go wrong?

  • The "wrong" thing could actually be the right thing

This experience drills home the power of experimentation and the importance of being unafraid to do things that might not work out.

It's a lesson I've taken to heart in my own work, including this book launch.

The opportunities I've encountered didn't come from following a rigid marketing plan (at least not this time).

They came from being open, being authentic, and being ready to say "yes" when presented with an unexpected idea.

It's like coloring outside the lines – sometimes you make a mess, but sometimes you create a masterpiece.

Call to Action

Now, I have a favor to ask. 

If you've had a chance to read "I'm Beautiful Because I Am," I'd be incredibly grateful if you could leave a review.

Your feedback is invaluable – it helps improve visibility and assists search engines and Amazon in matching the book with readers looking for these types of stories. It also provides me with essential insights as an author.

You can share your thoughts on:

Every review, no matter how brief, makes a significant impact. Thank you for considering this!

For those who missed the free e-book launch, I have exciting news. The paperback version will be out in September (or maybe sooner – wink, wink). I'll keep you posted!

Children's books are always so much more enjoyable with the physical book in your hands, so I appreciate your patience as we gear up for the paperback launch.

Looking Forward

As we wrap up, I'm happy to share that there's so much more on the horizon:

  • Book signings in Philadelphia and New York (dates coming soon!)

  • Collaborations with other authors and educators

  • And... a sneak peek below at my next book series (stay tuned!)

Closing Thoughts

As you go about your week, I encourage you to embrace your own journey.

Ask those "What if?" questions. Be willing to do things "wrong."

You never know where it might lead you.

Remember, the goal was never the point. The process is.

P.S. If you have any "What if?" questions of your own, I'd love to hear them. Drop me a line and let's chat!